Health and Fitness

Hawaii raises smoking age to 21

smokersHawaii is now the first and only state to raise the minimum smoking age to 21.  This includes all tobacco products including E-cigarettes.  Electronic cigarettes were including after officials noticed a spike in E-ciguarette sales and smoking in the last few years.  The hope is that it will decrease the the number of smokers in the state.  According the public health officials, most smokers begin smoking before the age of 18 and by that age they are already addicted.

If caught smoking, the first fine will be $10 and then $50 or community service for further offenses.  Retailers that are caught selling cigarettes to minors can get a fine of up to $2000.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
Close