Sports

Orlando Pride to Begin 2021 NWSL Regular Season at Home on May 16

Orlando Pride to Begin 2021 NWSL Regular Season at Home on May 16
Orlando, Florida, USA, April 21, 2021, Orlando Pride Forward Alex Morgan #13 waits for the opening whistle at Exploria Stadium (Photo Credit: Marty Jean-Louis)

ORLANDO, Fla. (April 27, 2021) — The Orlando Pride’s complete, 24-game schedule for the 2021 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) regular season has been announced, with the team’s season, presented by Orlando Health, beginning in Orlando on Sunday, May 16 against the Washington Spirit. 

To celebrate the start of the 2021 regular season, the Pride will kick off the 6 p.m. ET match against the Spirit using the official NWSL match ball that was sent to space as part of the Club’s Ad Astra kit unveil. 

To begin the 2021 NWSL season, Exploria Stadium will operate at a reduced capacity with guaranteed access for Season Ticket Members and partial ticket package holders.

With a fast start into the season, following the Pride’s home and season opener against the Spirit, the Pride travel to face 2019 NWSL Champions North Carolina Courage on May 22 followed by its first test against the 2020 Fall Series winner Portland Thorns FC in a midweek meeting on May 26 at Exploria Stadium.

Orlando will face the league’s two newest teams, Kansas City and Racing Louisville FC a combined five times with each making their first visit to Exploria Stadium on Sunday, May 30 and Friday, July 9, respectively. 

The Pride will have their first matchup against the 2020 Challenge Cup champion Houston Dash on Saturday, June 26 at BBVA Stadium before hosting the Dash on Sunday, September 5.

The league’s ninth season includes 10 teams set to face off in a single table, 24-game regular season – with 12 home games and 12 away games per club. Full broadcast details will be announced in the coming days.

The NWSL regular season will not break for the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Games, and will conclude on October 31. The top six teams at the end of the regular season will advance to the expanded NWSL Playoffs, with the top two seeds receiving a first-round bye. The league will close out the 2021 campaign with the 2021 NWSL Championship on Nov. 20. 

The complete 2021 regular season schedule can be found below. 


2021 Orlando Pride Regular Season Schedule:
 Sun., May 16
 
Washington Spirit
 Exploria Stadium
 6 p.m.
 Sat., May 22
 
North Carolina Courage
 Sahlen’s Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Wed., May 26
 
Portland Thorns FC
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sun., May 30
 
Kansas City
 Exploria Stadium
 6 p.m.
 Sun., June 6
 
Washington Spirit
 Audi Field
 2 p.m.
 Sun., June 20
 
NJ/NY Gotham FC
 Exploria Stadium
 6 p.m.
 Wed., June 23
 
Kansas City
 Legends Field
 2 p.m.
 Sat., June 26
 Houston Dash
 BBVA Stadium
 8:30 p.m.
 Sun., July 4
 North Carolina Courage
 Exploria Stadium
 6 p.m.
 Fri., July 9
 Racing Louisville FC
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sun., July 18
 Portland Thorns FC
 Providence Park
 10:30 p.m.
 Sat., July 24
 OL Reign
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sat., July 31
 North Carolina Courage
 Sahlen’s Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sun., Aug. 8
 Chicago Red Stars
 SeatGeek Stadium
 6 p.m.
 Sat., Aug. 14
 Portland Thorns FC
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sun., Aug. 22
 Washington Spirit
 Audi Field
 5 p.m.
 Sun., Aug. 29
 NJ/NY Gotham FC
 Red Bull Arena
 5 p.m.
 Sun., Sept. 5
 Houston Dash
 Exploria Stadium
 6 p.m.
 Sat., Sept. 11
 Racing Louisville FC
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sun., Sept. 26
 OL Reign
 Cheney Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sat., Oct. 2
 Chicago Red Stars
 SeatGeek Stadium
 8 p.m.
 Sat., Oct. 9
 NJ/NY Gotham FC
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 Sat., Oct. 16
 Racing Louisville FC
 Lynn Family Stadium
 7:30 p.m.
 Fri., Oct. 29
 Chicago Red Stars
 Exploria Stadium
 7 p.m.
 
 
 

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button